National Accreditation

All KS4 pupils have the opportunity to follow a course that leads to a nationally recognised accreditation including GCSE, Foundation qualifications and Functional Skills. We use a wide range of exam boards including Edexcel, AQA, OCR and ASDAN. The courses pupils take will depend on their level of attainment and degree of learning independence level.

Qualifications and Accreditation in KS4


ASDAN offers a range of nationally approved qualifications based around the development of personal, social and employability skills:

  • Entry 1, 2 and 3 (Access) qualifications meet the needs of learners working below GCSE (Intermediate) level (see ASDAN’s SEND provision information booklet)
  • Levels 1 and 2 (Intermediate) qualifications are comparable to GCSEs
  • Level 3 (Higher) qualifications are A/AS-level comparable
  • Level 4 accreditation represents a Certificate of Higher EducationUCAS points have been ascribed to the CoPE, AoPE, Wider Key Skills and Community Volunteering qualifications at Level 3.Key Stage 4 Personal Development Programmes (Bronze, Silver and Gold)Who is it for?Programmes can count as half of the curriculum credits (six) required for the CoPE qualification at Levels 1 and 2. Progression is also available to Universities Award and qualifications such as Personal and Social Development.
  • Facts and Figures
  • ASDAN’s flagship Personal Development Programmes have been used by centres for more than 20 years. They are suitable for use in all educational settings and pitched at learners aged 14-16 working at Entry level 3 and Level 1.
  • ASDAN’s established Personal Development Programmes (Bronze, Silver and Gold) offer imaginative ways of developing, recording and certificating a wide range of young people’s personal qualities, abilities and achievements, as well as introducing them to new activities and challenges. All the programmes link to nationally recognised qualifications.
  • ASDAN qualifications contribute towards school/college performance measures and Ofsted requirements. Download this information sheet for details.
  • Six credits (approx. 60 hours) are needed to achieve Bronze
  • 12 credits (approx. 120 hours) are needed to achieve Silver
  • 18 credits (approx. 180 hours) are needed to achieve Gold Transition Challenge offers a learner-centred, activity-based curriculum that can be undertaken with as much support as necessary. It has been developed for learners aged 14–16 with SEND, although it can be used with older age groups if appropriate.
  • There are two levels available:
  • Key Stage 4 Transition Challenge
  • Sensory: this programme offers a developmental perspective for learners with PMLD and rewards very small steps of learning and achievement
  • Introduction and Progression: the activities in this programme cover the statutory programmes of study for the Key Stage 4 National Curriculum, along with activities to develop the skills required for adult living
  • Who is it for?
  • Students aged 14-16 (Key Stage 4) with severe and/or profound learning difficultiesFor those seeking a qualification outcome, Transition Challenge can be used to support the delivery of the Entry 1 qualifications in Personal Progress.
  • Progression

There is also scope for progression through PSD at Entry 1-3 and Employability at Entry 2 and 3.


Please find below the link to KS4/5 Exam and Assessment Results 2016/17:

KS4 5 Exam And Assessment Results 2016 17 


Draft due to pending Governor approval